Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Next Race

Belgian Grand Prix
Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps
31, 01, 02 September 2012
Length of lap: 7.004 km (4.352 mi)
Total number of race laps: 44
Race length: 308.052 km (191.410 mi)
Most wins (constructors): Ferrari (16)
Fastest lap 2011: Mark Webber Red Bull 1:49.883

Last Race

Hungarian Grand Prix

Hungaroring Circuit

1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus
3 Romain Grosjean Lotus
Fastest Lap
Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:24.136
Pole Position
Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:20.953

2011 Cars images

Spanish GP, Catalunya Circuit - Race. F1 image 2011 (HD PHOTO)
Michael Schumacher, Mercedes MGP W02
Spanish GP, Catalunya Circuit
Formula 1 image 2011 (Photo 1920x1280)
Turkish GP, Istanbul Park Circuit - Race. F1 image 2011 (HD PHOTO 1920x1280)
Lewis Hamilton & Jenson Button, McLaren MP4-25
Turkish GP, Istanbul Park Circuit
Formula 1 image 2011
Chinese GP, Shanghai International Circuit - Race. F1 wallpaper 2011 (HD PHOTO 1920x1280)
Fernando Alonso. Ferrari 150° Italia
Chinese GP, Shanghai International Circuit - Race.
Formula 1 image 2011

Vettel takes historic Italian Grand Prix win

User Rating: / 0
They laughed when Sebastian Vettel and Toro Rosso snatched pole position in qualifying - but that turned to cheers of admiration on Sunday when the 21 year-old German became Formula Ones youngest ever winner after a brilliant wet-weather victory at Monza.

Neither Vettel nor the underdog team put a wheel wrong, as superb driving, strategy and pit work brought them home comfortably clear of McLarens Heikki Kovalainen and BMW Saubers Robert Kubica.

In Vettels wake, team mate Sebastien Bourdais was left on the grid as the race started behind the safety car because of the rain that started half an hour before the kick-off. But even without his wingman, Vettel never had a problem in this one. Kovalainens expected challenge never materialised, leaving the Finn sorely disappointed. Kubicas single pit stop was timed to absolute perfection, as he was able to refuel and switch from Bridgestones extreme wets to normal wets at the same time. Both Vettel and Kovalainen stopped twice.

A long way behind them, Fernando Alonso brought his Renault home just ahead of Nick Heidfelds BMW Sauber, Felipe Massas Ferrari and Lewis Hamiltons McLaren. They were covered by a handful of seconds.

Hamilton drove superbly in the wet opening stages, but was forced to make an unscheduled second stop to move to standard wet tyres and lacked crucial pace towards the end. With four laps left he and Red Bulls Mark Webber touched wheels under braking for the first chicane, but both cars survived undamaged and the Australian took the final point for eighth place.

Ferraris Kimi Raikkonen set the fastest lap but could not better ninth place ahead of Renaults Nelson Piquet, Toyotas Timo Glock, Williams Kazuki Nakajima, Toyotas Jarno Trulli, Williams Nico Rosberg, Hondas Jenson Button, Red Bulls David Coulthard, Hondas Rubens Barrichello and Bourdais.

The two Toyotas and Rosberg were well placed until they had to stop to switch to standard wet tyres, while Nakajima collided with Coulthard on the 51st lap in Curva Grande, forcing the Scot to pit for a new nose.

The sole retirement was Giancarlo Fisichella, who crashed his Force India after also hitting Coulthard on Lap 12.

Red Bull owner Dietrich Mateschitzs deserved first F1 victory thus came from the team he put up for sale earlier in the season. It means Vettel is now ninth in the driver standings, while Toro Rosso edge ahead of Red Bull Racing in sixth.

At the top of the drivers table Hamilton now has a single point lead over Massa, 77 to 76, pending McLarens Belgian appeal. Kubica has 64 and Raikkonen 57. In the constructors championship McLaren close still further on Ferrari, with 129 points to the Scuderias 134.


Add comment

Flash news

Mercedes GP will not appeal Schumacher penalty

Mercedes GP have announced they will not appeal the stewards' decision to penalise Michael Schumacher following Sunday’s Monaco Grand Prix. Schumacher dropped from sixth to 12th in the results after he was handed a 20-second time penalty for his overtaking manoeuvre on Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso in the dying moments of the Monte Carlo race. Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 News Vettel takes historic Italian Grand Prix win