Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Australian Grand Prix - Preview

User Rating: / 0
 Australian Grand Prix - Preview
Round two of the 2010 FIA Formula 1 world championship takes place in Melbourne at the Albert Park street circuit. Teams arrive knowing this temporary track presents particular challenges, such as a little-used and therefore changeable surface, and close barriers. In previous years these factors have frequently combined with the fickle local climate to make the Australian Grand Prix eventful: in 2002 only eight cars finished and fifth-placed Mark Webber became the first, and to date only, Australian to score points at his home grand prix.

Located near Melbourne's beachside St Kilda district, Albert Park is one of the most accessible
of all current grand prix venues, with many fans and F1 personnel choosing to walk to the circuit. As in 2009, this weekend's racing schedule has been adjusted to help accommodate the needs of international broadcasters. Please note the later-than-usual start times for the race, qualifying and practice sessions. The FIA media schedule has been revised accordingly, as detailed below.

A new combination kerb has been installed on the apex of turn 9.
The kerbs and artificial grass have been extended downstream on the exit of turns 2 and 12.

1980 World Champion Alan Jones was the last grand-prix winning Australian (before Mark Webber) to take part in an Australian Grand Prix, in 1986. In his 117th and last F1 race, Jones qualified his Team Haas Lola-Ford 15th, but retired on lap 16 with engine failure.

Melbourne is only the second city to host the Australian Grand Prix. Adelaide staged the grand prix from 1985-1995, with Melbourne taking over from the 1996 season-opener.

Michael Schumacher will this year challenge for his fifth Australian GP win. Gerhard Berger, David Coulthard, Damon Hill, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna all won the race twice, while there are 11 one-time Australian GP winners.

Ayrton Senna took six pole positions at the Australian GP between 1985 and 1993. Closest to the late three-time champion's record are Mika Hakkinen, Nigel Mansell and Michael Schumacher, all of whom have three Australian poles.

The 1991 Australian GP, held in torrential rain at the Adelaide circuit, holds the record for the shortest-ever grand prix. The Nov 3 race was stopped after 16 laps and less than 65km and the result was declared, for half-points, on positions at lap 14. Ayrton Senna won, while second-placed Nigel Mansell was unable to take the podium, as he crashed after the chequered flag and required hospital treatment.

Length of lap: 5.303km
Lap record: 1:24.125 (Michael Schumacher, Ferrari, 2004)
Start line/finish line offset: 0.000km
Total number of race laps: 58
Total race distance: 307.574km
Pitlane speed limits: 60km/h during practice sessions;
100km/h during qualifying and race

Qualifying: All drivers eliminated in Q1 or Q2 will be available for media interviews immediately after the end of each session, as will drivers who participated in Q3, but who are not required for the post-qualifying press conference. Where? At the back of the FIA garage, paddock side.

Race: Any driver retiring before the end of the race will be available for media interviews after his return to the paddock. In addition, all drivers who finish the race outside the top three will be available for media interviews immediately after the end of the race, at each team's individual garage/hospitality.

During the race every team will make at least one senior spokesperson available for interview by officially accredited TV crews. A list of those nominated will be made available in the media centre.


Add comment

Flash news

Jerez day one

Red Bull and Williams were the only teams in action on Monday in Jerez as this weeks test session got underway. Both squads fielded their race line-ups at the Spanish circuit, but it was Red Bulls David Coulthard and Mark Webber who stole the show to take first and second on the timesheets.

Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories Tracks Australian Grand Prix - Preview