Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Turkish Grand Prix - Preview

User Rating: / 7

Monaco Grand Prix - Preview

Gradients, swooping curves, an anti-clockwise layout and a dramatic triple-apex bend make Istanbul Park one of the drivers’ favourites on the FIA Formula One World Championship calendar. Built for the 2005 season by architect Hermann Tilke – creator of several other Formula One venues – Istanbul Park allowed Turkey to become a new Formula One host nation. And in the five grands prix held since, Ferrari's Felipe Massa, who won a hat-trick of races from 2006-2008, each time from pole position, has emerged as the man to beat.

The circuit, known colloquially as the ‘Otodrom’, is located 50km from central Istanbul, on the Asian side of the Bosphorus River and its proximity to one of the world’s most vibrant cities makes it a popular destination with drivers, teams and fans alike. A demanding track, with sections that echo corners of classic venues such as Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium and Interlagos in Brazil, it will undoubtedly favour teams whose cars are best able to adapt to its many and varied challenges.

The Turkish Grand Prix is the longest ‘road trip’ undertaken by the Formula One teams. For UK-based squads it’s a journey of more than 3000 km to Istanbul Park, either overland or with a sea-freight leg from Trieste in Italy to Pendik, the closest Turkish port.

Turn 8 boasts some of the most impressive statistics of any corner encountered on the Formula One tour: drivers experience up to 5g cornering force as they pass through it at around 160mph; it takes approximately seven seconds from entry to exit and depending on the line taken, it has three or four apexes, each related to the other. Drivers missing an early Turn 8 apex are unable to ‘recover’ the lap.

The fast downhill left-hand Turn 1 has been the scene of a number of racing incidents in the circuit’s short history. As one of the best passing spots on the track, it encourages passing manoeuvres, yet still allows a leading driver to defend against a challenging car.

Istanbul Park is one of only four anti-clockwise circuits on the 2010 Formula One calendar, the others being: Interlagos (Brazil); the Singapore street circuit and the Yas Marina circuit (Abu Dhabi).

Length of lap: 5.338km
Lap record: 1:24.770 (Juan-Pablo Montoya, 2005, McLaren)
Start line/finish line offset: 0.208km
Total number of race laps: 58
Total race distance: 309.396km
Pitlane speed limits: 60km/h during practice sessions; 100km/h during qualifying and race
2009 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes
2008 Felipe Massa Ferrari
2007 Felipe Massa Ferrari
2006 Felipe Massa Ferrari
2005 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren-Mercedes


Qualifying: All drivers eliminated in Q1 or Q2 will be available for media interviews immediately after the end of each session, as will drivers who participated in Q3, but who are not required for the post-qualifying press conference. Where? At the back of the FIA garage, paddock side.

Race: Any driver retiring before the end of the race will be available for media interviews after his return to the paddock. In addition, all drivers who finish the race outside the top three will be available for media interviews immediately after the end of the race, at each team’s individual garage/hospitality or at the back of the FIA garage.

During the race every team will make available at least one senior spokesperson for interviews by officially accredited TV crews. A list of those nominated will be made available in the media centre.

JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use Google Maps.
However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser.
To view Google Maps, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, and then try again.


Add comment

Flash news

ING to sponsor 2008 Hungarian Grand Prix

Financial services company ING have extended their involvement in Formula One racing by signing a new agreement to become the title sponsor of the 2008 Hungarian Grand Prix. The event, which will take place in August, will be known as the ING Hungarian Grand Prix.

Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories Tracks Turkish Grand Prix - Preview