Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Fernando Alonso to stay at Ferrari until 2016

User Rating: / 0

Fernando Alonso will remain at Ferrari until at least the end of 2016 after renewing his technical and racing deal, it was revealed on Thursday. Alonso joined the Italian team in 2010 after stints with Renault and McLaren, and over his 23 Grands Prix with Ferrari has taken five wins, 11 podiums, two pole positions and 293 world championship points.

“I am very happy to have reached this agreement,” said the 29 year-old. “I immediately felt comfortable within Ferrari and now it feels to me like a second family. I have the utmost faith in the men and women who work in Maranello and in those who lead them: it is therefore natural for me to decide to extend my relationship in the long term like this, with a team at which I will no doubt end my Formula One career one day.”

Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo added: “It is a great pleasure to have renewed our agreement with a driver who has always demonstrated a winning mentality even in the most difficult circumstances. Fernando has all the required qualities, both technically and personally to play a leading role in the history of Ferrari and I hope he will be enriching it with further wins very soon.”

Spaniard Alonso, who won two world championships with Renault back in 2005 and 2006, will compete in his home Grand Prix this weekend at Barcelona’s Circuit de Catalunya.


Add comment

Flash news

Jerez day four

McLarens Heikki Kovalainen finished testing at the Spanish circuit of Jerez on a high on Thursday, as he became the only driver of the week to clock a time under the 1m 18s mark. Kovalainens lap, a 1m 17.974, was over half a second faster than Red Bulls David Coulthard.

Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories F1 Team Fernando Alonso to stay at Ferrari until 2016