Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Marina circuit - Preview

User Rating: / 6

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Preview

The final chapter of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship will be written this weekend in Abu Dhabi, where one of four men will be crowned World Champion: Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso; Red Bull Racing’s, Sebastian Vettel or Mark Webber; or McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton. Alonso leads the chase with 246 points, followed by Webber on 238, Vettel on 231 and Hamilton on 222.

The Constructors‘title has already been decided, with Red Bull Racing taking the title last weekend in Brazil after a 1-2 finish that put the team out of reach of their rivals on 469 points. The venue for what promises to be an epic showdown finale to a classic Formula One season is the purpose-built Yas Marina circuit, some 30km from central Abu Dhabi. Built for the inaugural Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in 2009, this harbour circuit was envisioned as a ‘Monaco of the Middle East‘ and the track’s layout retains some of the street-circuit feel familiar from Monte Carlo, with 21 turns – 12 left, nine right – three chicanes, six 90-degree corners and a hairpin leading to the back straight. As last year, the Abu Dhabi race will be a ‘twilight’ grand prix, with a local start time of 5pm. It will begin in daylight, but finish after sunset, allowing TV cameras to capture the spectacle of the spectacularly lit Yas Island facilities.

The run-off area at turn 8 has been extended by approx ten meters.
An additional row of Tec Pro barriers have been installed at turn 8.

Last year’s inaugural Abu Dhabi Grand Prix won the award for Best Promoted Race at the 2009 FIA Gala in Monaco. The award recognised Abu Dhabi’s achievement in creating a state-of-the-art venue and hosting Formula One’s first twilight grand prix.
A sophisticated lighting system is in place around the Yas Marina circuit to provide a smooth transition in lighting conditions between daylight and darkness. Light fixtures with vertical controllable beams remove shadow and glare at driver level.
The Yas Marina circuit is one of five in Formula One to run anti-clockwise, the others being: the Korea International Circuit, Turkey’s Istanbul Park, Singapore’s Marina Bay and the Interlagos circuit in Brazil.
Abu Dhabi is the capital of the United Arab Emirates and its name translates literally as ‘father of the gazelle’. Its modern wealth is founded on oil, construction and financial services, although Abu Dhabi was settled in the third millennium BC by nomads and fishermen.


Length of lap: 5.554km
Lap record: 1.40.279, Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, 2009
Start line/finish line offset: 0.115km
Total number of race laps: 55
Total race distance: 305.355km
Pitlane speed limits: 60km/h during practice sessions; 100km/h during qualifying and race

Qualifying: All drivers eliminated in Q1 or Q2 will be available for media interviews immediately after the end of each session as will drivers who participated in Q3, but who are not required for the post-qualifying press conference. 
Where? At the back of the FIA garage, paddock side.
Race: Any driver retiring before the end of the race will be available for media interviews after his return to the paddock. In addition, all drivers who finish the race outside the top three will be available for media interviews immediately after the end of the race at each team’s individual garage/hospitality or alternatively at the back of the FIA garage.

Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina CIRCUIT'S LOCATION



Add comment

Flash news

European Grand Prix 2008 - preview quotes

Formula One racing is about to re-group in Spain after its three-week summer break to visit the first all-new venue on the 2008 calendar - the impressive street circuit in the port city of Valencia. Organisers have created a unique and demanding 25-corner track that winds around the Juan Carlos I marina. However, unlike traditional street circuits, whose tight and twisting configurations place a premium on qualifying at the front, Valencia is fast, sweeping and wide, offering plenty of potential for passing - and excitement.

Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories Tracks Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Marina circuit - Preview