Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Todt elected new FIA President

User Rating: / 0
Jean Todt has succeeded Max Mosley as President of Formula One racings governing body, the FIA, after comfortably winning a vote of the FIA General Assembly in Paris on Friday. Mosley, who backed Todts campaign against sole opponent Ari Vatanen, had held the role since 1993.

Frenchman Todt has been involved in motorsport since 1966 and is arguably best known as the Ferrari team principal who guided Michael Schumacher to five world championships. He received 135 votes to former world rally champion Vatanens 49, with 12 abstentions or invalid votes, and will now serve a four-year term.

Born in Pierrefort, Todt graduated from the School of Economics and Business in Paris and had a successful career as a rally co-driver from 1966 to 1981, ending with a manufacturers world title win with Talbot Lotus.

After retiring from competition in 1982 he was appointed director of racing activities for Automobiles Peugeot, where he founded the Peugeot Talbot Sport team, which went on to win two world rally constructors championships, two world rally drivers championships and four Paris-Dakar victories. In 1990, Todt became director of sporting activities at the PSA Peugeot-Citroen Group, which won the world sports car title in 1992 plus the Le Mans 24 Hour race in ‘92 and ‘93.

He joined Ferrari in 1993 as general manager of its racing division and by 2001 was overseeing all sporting activities for the Ferrari-Maserati Group. In 2006 he was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Ferrari SpA. During Todts time with Ferrari, the team won a total 98 Grands Prix and 13 world titles.

From 1975 to 1981, Todt acted as representative of rally drivers to the rally commission of the Federation Internationale du Sport Automobile (FISA), and from ‘81 to ‘93 represented the constructors. From 1993 to 2009, he acted as the Ferraris representative to the FIA World Council. In his final year with Ferrari, Todt worked as special advisor to the Ferrari board chairman before retiring from the company in March 2009.

He has since continued his work in many capacities with the FIA and FIA Foundation. He is a member of the Board of Trustees of the FIA Foundation and President of the eSafetyAware! campaign, which aims to increase awareness and uptake of life-saving electronic safety technologies in vehicles. With his partner Michelle Yeoh, Todt travels the world promoting the Make Roads Safe Campaign and the Call for a Decade of Action for Road Safety.

Fridays General Assembly also saw the following elected as part of Todts candidacy list:

President of the Senate
Nick Craw, President, Automobile Competition Committee for the US (USA)

Deputy President Automobile Mobility & Tourism
Brian Gibbons, Chief Executive, New Zealand Automobile Association (New Zealand)

Deputy President Sport
Graham Stoker, Council Chairman, Motor Sports Association (UK)

Senate Members
Hernan Gallegos Banderas, President, Automovil Club del Ecuador (Ecuador)
HH Tunku Mudzaffar bin Tunku Mustapha, Chairman, Automobile Association of Malaysia (Malaysia)
S.H. Rudolf Graf von der Schulenburg, President, Automobilclub von Deutschland (Germany)
Carlos Slim Domit, Patron, Asociaci?n Mexicana Automovilistica (Mexico)
Jainchang Yan, Deputy President, Federation of Automobile Sports of China (China)

Mobility Vice Presidents
Carlos Barbosa, President, Automovel Club de Portugal (Portugal)
Victor Dumot, President, Touring and Automobile Club of Paraguay (Paraguay)
Ignacio Gonzalez Fausto, President, Asociaci?n Mexicana Automovilistica (Mexico)
Gus Lagman, President, Automobile Association Philippines (Philippines)
Franco Lucchesi, Delegate to the FIA, Automobile Club dItalia (Italy)
Jorge Rosales, President, Automobile Club of Argentina (Argentina)
Danijel Starman, President, Avto-moto zveza Slovenije (Slovenia)

Sport Vice Presidents
Jos? Abed, President, Organizacion Mexicana del Deporte Automovilistico Internacional (Mexico)
Michel Boeri, President, Automobile Club de Monaco (Monaco)
Morrie Chandler, Honorary President, MotorSport New Zealand (New Zealand)
Enrico Gelpi, President, Automobile Club d'Italia (Italy)
Carlos Gracia, President, Real Federaci?n Espa?ola de Automovilismo (Spain)
Mohamed ben Sulayem, President, Automobile and Touring Club for United Arab Emirates (UAE)
Surinder Thatthi, Automobile Association of Tanzania (Tanzania)


Add comment

Flash news

Vergne to star for Red Bull at young driver test

Red Bull have revealed on Tuesday that Jean-Eric Vergne is to take charge of their championship-winning RB7 at the forthcoming Abu Dhabi young driver test. Vergne recently sampled Jaime Alguersuari’s Toro Rosso STR06 during the opening Friday practice session in Korea.

Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories FIA reglament Todt elected new FIA President