Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

2010 FIA Formula One World Championship - New Entries

User Rating: / 0
When the FIA opened entries for the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship, it received applications from 15 potential new teams.

All of those entries underwent a stringent due diligence process to ensure that new teams have the required level of funding, resources, experience and technical expertise to compete at the highest level of motor sport. Three of those teams have been confirmed for 2010 and further due diligence is currently taking place on other potential entries.

Detailed below is information about each of the new teams that will compete in the Championship from next year.

Company Name: Campos Meta
Team Name: Campos Grand Prix
Country: Spain
Team Principal: Adri?n Campos Su?er

The Campos Racing team was launched in 1998 by ex-Formula One driver Adri?n Campos. Since that time it has competed in various championships from GP2 to Euro F3. It has won six driver championships, five team championships and currently holds the GP2 Series 2008 title.

Campos Racing is running the Campos Grand Prix team in conjunction with Meta Image, a Madrid-based sports agency which specializes in event management, sponsorship acquisition, PR and marketing.

The Grand Prix teams headquarters are based in Madrid, which houses the marketing and administrative departments. The technical centre is based at Campos Racings current headquarters in Valencia, 25km from the Ricardo Tormo race track. This facility currently manages design and development for the Campos Racing F3, Mexico A1GP and Barwa International GP2 teams.

As part of its application to compete in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship, Campos has agreed an engine supply deal with Cosworth and technical partnerships with Dallara Automobili and Xtrac.

Company Name: Manor Grand Prix Racing
Team Name: Manor F1 Team
Country: United Kingdom
Team Principal: John Alfred Booth

The Manor name came into racing in 1990 when former single-seater champion John Booth decided to establish his own team. Since that time, Manor's record of success includes some 171 Race Wins and 19 Championship Titles in championships such as Formula Renault and Formula 3 Euroseries.

Manor is based in the UK across two sites, one in Sheffield and the other in Bicester. Its technical innovation is characterised by the fact that the race cars are designed, tested and refined entirely in the digital domain using the processes originally developed by Wirth Research Limited (WRL).

WRL is an engineering company, founded by Nick Wirth in 2003, which specialises in research, development and manufacturing in the high technology sector. WRL's designs were successful in winning both the 2004 and 2005 lndy Racing League championships and it has recently produced race winning designs for Honda competing in the American Le Mans Series.

Wirth, who is the Technical Director of Manor Grand Prix Racing, started his career as an Aerodynamicist for the March F1 racing team. He was responsible for aerodynamic concepts as well as scheming and design of wind tunnel model components for the 1988 and 1989 Leyton House March F1 cars.

From 1993 to 1995, Wirth was Founder/Owner/Technical Director of the Simtek F1 team, which started in the 1994 F1 championship. Simtek Research provided the team with all of the engineering and design of the cars. Wirth went on to become Chief Designer for the Benetton F1 team from 1996 to 1999.

As part of its application to compete in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship, Manor has agreed an engine supply deal with Cosworth.

Company Name: Team US F1
Team Name: Team US F1
Country: US
Team Principal: Ken Anderson

Team US F1 is a new racing operation but its directors have many years of motor sport experience and it has already attracted a host of investors.

US F1s Team Principal Ken Anderson has been involved in motor sport for over 30 years. His experiences include designing and constructing multiple Indy 500 and IndyCar Series-winning race cars, operating as technical director for the Ligier and Onyx Formula One teams and creating the advanced Windshear Wind Tunnel.

Fellow team director Peter Windsor has worked in F1 for over 35 years as a journalist, team manager and consultant. He has worked as the team manager for the championship-winning Williams-Renault team, the manager for Ferraris F1 chassis and suspension departments and as a consultant for F1 drivers Nigel Mansell and Carlos Reutemann.

As part of its application to compete in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship, US F1 has agreed an engine supply deal with Cosworth.


Add comment

Flash news

Kubica to race for Renault in 2010

Renault confirmed on Wednesday that Robert Kubica will race for the team in 2010. Kubica will replace Fernando Alonso, who is to join Ferrari next year, in the French squads line-up. Kubica, who currently drives for BMW Sauber, took his sole Formula One victory to date at the 2008 Canadian Grand Prix and finished last season fourth in the world championship.
Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories FIA reglament 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship - New Entries