Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Lola to submit 2010 Formula One entry

User Rating: / 0
British race car makers Lola have announced they will be lodging an entry for the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship after completing their evaluation of the technical regulations for cost-capped teams announced by the FIA last month.

Lola, who last participated in Formula One racing in the late 1990s, admitted they re-examined their position after the original cap of ?30 million was raised to ?40 million, but concluded that the new regulations still present an opportunity not to be missed.

“The Lola Group believes that the WMSC decisions relating to cost-capping and the provision of revised technical regulations to facilitate the entry of new teams into Formula One should be embraced,” said a group statement. “This is not only prudent considering the backdrop of global economics but also taking into account the need for new teams to be able to compete credibly against long established entrants.”

Whilst several existing teams have objected to the fact that cost-capped entrants will be given more technical freedom, Lola believe it to be essential if new entrants are to have a chance of competing with their more experienced rivals.

“It is imperative that performance breaks be afforded to new cost-capped entrants who will have a limited period in which to form teams, design and manufacture their cars. With these breaks Lola looks forward to competing with the existing teams who enjoy decades of experience. The question of speed differentials, safety and the spectacle of Formula One must also be considered.”

Entries for the 2010 championship must be lodged between May 22 and 29. A list of the 13 successful teams will be published on June 12.


Add comment

Flash news

Monday's Barcelona testing times

1. MASSA Ferrari 1m18.339s
2. WURZ Honda 1m21.059s
3. DE LA ROSA McLaren 1m21.556s
4. HEIDFELD BMW 1m21.679s
5. PIQUET Renault 1m22.125s
6. COULTHARD Red Bull 1m22.197s
7. NAKAJIMA Williams 1m22.431s
8. GLOCK Toyota 1m22.590s
9. LIUZZI Force India 1m22.846s

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories F1 Team Lola to submit 2010 Formula One entry