Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Ferrari to celebrate their 800th Grand Prix in Turkey

User Rating: / 3

This weekend’s Turkish race will be a very special one for Ferrari, as it will be the Italian team’s 800th Grand Prix. And to celebrate reaching such a momentous milestone, a special commemorative logo will be placed on the engine covers of both F10s for the duration of the Istanbul Park event.

“Eight hundred Grands Prix represents a milestone in the life of Ferrari, which fills us with satisfaction and pride,” said Ferrari President Luca di Montezemolo. “I want to share our delight in this achievement with the drivers who have driven our cars in the world championship and with our fans. It is nice to look back and see what we have done together, aware that we are part of a story that is without equal and is ongoing.”

First as sporting director (from 1973-1976) and then as President (since 1991) Di Montezemolo has been involved in 359 of the 799 chapters of Ferrari’s Formula One history, during which time the team won a total of 17 world championships (seven driver titles and 10 constructor titles) and 123 Grands Prix.

The only team to have participated in every world championship since its inception back in 1950, Ferrari’s first victory came courtesy of Jose Froilan Gonzalez at the 1951 British Grand Prix. Fernando Alonso clinched their most recent at the 2010 season opener in Bahrain.

The Italian team have also set many records, thanks to their 15 drivers’ titles, 16 constructors’ titles, 211 wins, 632 podium finishes, 223 second-place finishes, 198 third-place finishes, 203 pole positions and 220 fastest race laps.

Other records held by Ferrari and their drivers include constructors’ championship points (4229.5), consecutive wins (14, between 1952-1953), one-two finishes (80), wins in one season for one driver (13, for Michael Schumacher in 2004), consecutive wins for a driver (nine, for Alberto Ascari from 1952-1953), consecutive podium finishes for a driver (19, for Schumacher from 2001-2002,) one-two finishes for a driver pairing (24, for Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello from 2000-2005), and consecutive points finishes per driver (24, for Schumacher from 2001-2003).


Add comment

Flash news

Trulli and Glock carrying high hopes for TF108

Jarno Trulli and Timo Glock were presented together for the first time on Thursday as Toyotas 2008 race line-up. The pair joined the teams test and reserve driver, Kamui Kobayashi, at the launch of the Japanese squad's new car, the TF108, in Germany.
For Trulli, 2008 marks the start of his fourth season with Toyota, and despite a difficult 2007 campaign, the Italian insisted he is optimistic about the year ahead.

Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories F1 Team Ferrari to celebrate their 800th Grand Prix in Turkey