Formula 1 wallpapers, stories, news

Raikkonen confirms WRC drive for 2010

User Rating: / 0
Kimi Raikkonen has ruled himself out of a Formula One drive for next season following confirmation that he will compete for Citroens Red Bull-backed junior team in the 2010 World Rally Championship (WRC).

Raikkonen, whose Ferrari seat has been taken by Fernando Alonso for next year, has signed a one-year contract with Citroen and has not ruled out a Formula One return in the future - though only if its with a team with title-winning potential.

He made his WRC debut earlier this year on home soil in Rally Finland, and will now experience a full campaign co-driven by compatriot Kaj Lindstrom, who previously partnered multiple WRC champion Tommi Makinen.

“I always wanted to compete in rally, especially in the World Rally Championship at some point in my career," said Raikkonen. "Thanks to Red Bull, I have the opportunity to drive the best car of the series with the Citroen C4.

“This is a new but very exciting challenge. For the moment we have a one-year contract and we will see how it goes for the future. I am really looking forward to testing the car and taking the start of the first rally.”

Raikkonen will contest 12 of next year's 13 WRC rounds, missing only the New Zealand event, which the team are not taking part in.


Add comment

Flash news

Kimi Raikkonen hopes for Hockenheim heatwave

Kimi Raikkonen is hoping for a hot and dry German Grand Prix to play to the strengths of his Ferrari chassis. So far this year the F2008 has generally been easier on its tyres than the rival McLaren MP4-23, making a hot race, which puts more strain on the tyres, advantageous to Raikkonen and Ferrari.

Read more... Link  

2012 Race Drivers

Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Jenson Button
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa
Michael Schumacher
Nico Rosberg
Kimi Räikkönen
Romain Grosjean
Paul di Resta
Nico Hulkenberg
Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez
Daniel Ricciardo
Jean-Eric Vergne
Pastor Maldonado
Bruno Senna
Heikki Kovalainen
Vitaly Petrov
Pedro de la Rosa
Narain Karthikeyan
Timo Glock
Charles Pic

You are here: F1 Stories Driver stories Raikkonen confirms WRC drive for 2010